Happy Top Gun Day 2016

It’s no secret that I’m a lover of 80’s movies, or that I’ve a passion for military aircraft. I don’t hide the fact that Top Gun is my all time favourite movie and I get excited and fuzzy inside when I’m at airshows or aviation museums (usually with camera in hand).

I have, however, made a teeny tiny miscalculation in ordering supplies for my (planned) Top Gun themed jewellery/accessories. They haven’t turned up in time for me to create and list them on my Etsy on this glorious Top Gun Day *sigh*.

I’m hoping they turn up tomorrow or Monday, so that I can get cracking. A couple of days late won’t really make much difference, but I’m just so excited about them that I feel utterly disappointed in myself for not thinking through timescales properly.

So, to cheer myself up, I decided to make some keyrings. I’m trying this new style (seen quite a few variations on Etsy), as I’ve fallen out with my glass cabochons (a long and rather boring story). I’ve yet to list them, as I’m considering adding one or two coloured imitation pearl beads, with bead caps, to brighten them up. My favourite is probably the “don’t blink” one – being a massive Whovian and all.

I’ve got quite a busy weekend ahead of me, so I won’t get time to list anything until next week. My weekends are usually my downtime. I’m not allowed to work on weekends (my new rule), unless I’m trading at an event with my other business, or if I’m ill and having to play “catch up”. I work Monday to Friday from the moment I’m up and dressed (6:30am) until around 5:30pm (sometimes this extends until 8 or 9 – *naughty*), so my weekends are spent winding down and making memories with my beautiful little family.

Except, of course, for this weekend. This weekend I’m having to do a massive stock take for my other business Retro Geek Chic. I’ve finished building the online webstore for it, I’ve just got to fill it, and for that I need stock levels. Thankfully, my other half has offered to assist *he’s such a darling*.

I’ll use the rest of today to do a spot of networking, list one or two items, shop updates and other such delights.

P.S. Thanks to the lovely Jennifer over at Fairy Fountain Gifts, I’ll have a new gizmo to play around with next week. (I bought myself a Dymo 450 label writer, as recommended by Jennifer). Can’t wait!

Leave a comment