Smashing it

On Sunday, I attended a new event here in Leeds called Smashcon.

The main trade was via my other business Retro Geek Chic, but there was a small area of my stall dedicated to my handmade jewellery and accessories. All in all, I think they were well received. I’m quite chuffed that I’ve to make a bunch more before my next event.

Yes, that sounds like I’m blowing my own trumpet, but it’s the feeling you get when people like your work enough to want to buy it and come back to buy more! It’s amazing! Don’t get me wrong, I have every faith in my work, but as an artist/craftswoman, there’s always that one niggling voice that tells you your stuff is crap and no-one will want to buy it.

On Sunday, that tiny voice in me was quiet.

I have a busy few weeks ahead of me, with new custom orders to make and send, new products to make ready for my next event at the Super Retro Games Fair and for listing on my Etsy shop. I’m still working on my collection inspired by Prof. Brian Cox, I’m just waiting on some supplies. However, whilst I wait, I’ve been busy designing/working on some new items for my Halloween range. So I’ve been keeping busy and my mind ticking over.

There are so many exciting things in the pipeline and I’m really looking forward to the latter end of the year where I’ll be attending even more events. I’m really hoping to attend a particular event in December over near Rotherham. I don’t want to jinx it, so for now it’s a secret (ish). Once confirmed, you’ll no doubt be notified of a rather exciteable blog post!

On a different note, I’ve just seen the teaser trailer for the live-action Beauty & The Beast – the music gave me chills! It’s my all time favourite fairytale and I really hope they do it justice. It has inspired me to release a fairytale collection in the near future. Check out the teaser trailer and let me know what you think?

 

 

Leave a comment